Default NLS Option


Linux Kernel Configuration
└─>File systems
└─>Native language support
└─>Default NLS Option
In linux kernel since version 2.6.20 (release Date: 2007-02-04)  
The default NLS used when mounting file system. Note, that this is
the NLS used by your console, not the NLS used by a specific file
system (if different) to store data (filenames) on a disk.
Currently, the valid values are:
big5, cp437, cp737, cp775, cp850, cp852, cp855, cp857, cp860, cp861,
cp862, cp863, cp864, cp865, cp866, cp869, cp874, cp932, cp936,
cp949, cp950, cp1251, cp1255, euc-jp, euc-kr, gb2312, iso8859-1,
iso8859-2, iso8859-3, iso8859-4, iso8859-5, iso8859-6, iso8859-7,
iso8859-8, iso8859-9, iso8859-13, iso8859-14, iso8859-15,
koi8-r, koi8-ru, koi8-u, sjis, tis-620, macroman, utf8.
If you specify a wrong value, it will use the built-in NLS;
compatible with iso8859-1.

If unsure, specify it as "iso8859-1".